RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

DATE OF HEARING : July 16, 2010 at 12.30 hours

CASE NO. : 23 of 2010

MATTER : Suo Motu hearing for action to be initiated against

Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Co. Ltd. (MSEDCL) for non-adherence of Load Shedding

Protocol approved by the Commission

CORAM : Shri V.P. Raja, Chairman

Shri V.L. Sonavane, Member

Shri Pratap Hogade, President of Maharashtra Rajya Veej Grahak Sanghatana (MRVGS) submitted that MSEDCL's Circular No. 30 dated April 24, 2010 is not as per the Load Shedding Protocol approved by the Commission in its Order dated November 28, 2008 passed in Case No. 77 and 78 of 2008. Shri Hogade further submitted that MSEDCL in its submission dated July 6, 2010 has accepted the fact that Circular No. 30 in not adhering to the approved Load Shedding Protocol of the Commission. It was submitted that, Circular No. 30, which was implemented as a temporary measure, is still continuing even though demand-supply gap has come down.

Shri Raju Shetty, M.P. and Shri N. D. Patil submitted that, there is a huge loss in the agricultural sector due to increase in Load Shedding hours of rural Maharashtra.

Shri Ashok Pendse of Thane Belapur Industries Association (TBIA), Authorised Consumer Representative submitted that during the period of 1st April, 2010 to 30th June, 2010 demand-supply gap did not cross 4600 MW except on one or two days, for which Scenario IV of existing Load Shedding Protocol is adequate.

Ashwini Chitnis of Prayas Energy Group, Authorised Consumer Representative submitted that MSEDCL by its Circular No. 30 has violated the Principle of Equitable Power Distribution.

Shri R. G. Tambe, Shri Arjun Korade, Shri Ramnath Patil, Shri Sham Patil, Shri Vilas Devale and Shri Ashok Sonavane also made their submissions during the hearing. Shri Bodle, CE (LM) appeared on behalf of MSEDCL and made his submissions during the hearing.

After hearing the Consumer Representatives, other speakers and MSEDCL the Commission directed as follows:

- 1. Supreme Court in its Order dated 12th May, 2005 had stipulated that MSEDCL should decide Load Shedding Protocol in consultation with the Commission. Since Circular No. 30 dated April 24, 2010 issued by MSEDCL is not as per the approved Load Shedding Protocol prescribed by the Commission, the same cannot be continued. MSEDCL is directed to take corrective actions within 48 hours from the date of this hearing to go back to the approved Load Shedding Protocol prescribed by the Commission in its Order dated November 28, 2008 passed in Case No. 77 and 78 of 2008 and extinguish the applicability of Circular No. 30 dated April 24, 2010.
- 2. MSEDCL has to submit within 10 days its detailed Reply / Submissions on affidavit regarding the issues raised during this hearing and to serve the copy of the same to all the consumers and Consumer Representatives represented in this hearing.
- 3. The next hearing in the matter is scheduled on August 6, 2010 on 11:00 am.

Annexure A

Sub: List of Persons who attended the hearing of Case no 23 of 2010 on 16.07.2010 at 12.30 hr

S.No	Name of the person and Designation & Organization
1.	Shri Ashok Pendse, TBIA
2.	Shri Pratap Hogade, President, MVGS
3.	Shri Sham Patil , President , MVGS, Dhule
4.	Shri Abhinav Sharma
5.	Shri Raju Shetti
6.	Shri S. V. Chavan
7.	Shri D.S. Bodle, C.E. (LM), MSEDCL
8.	Shri D.S. Talware, CE, MSEDCL
9.	Shri A.P. Musalkar
10.	Shri S.V.Bapat, SE (TRC), MSEDCL
11.	Shri N.D.Patil
12.	Shri R.G. Tambe
13.	Shri Sanjay A. Pisal
14.	Shri Sandip Sanap , MSEDCL
15.	Shri Ambekar L.N, MAHAGENCO
16.	Shri S.H. Dongre, MAHAGENCO
17.	Shri A. B. Sonavane
18.	Shri Vilas Deole
19.	Shri Arjun Borade
20.	Shri Dilip B. Sangamare
21.	Shri Ashok A. Sheijebe
22.	Shri Ganesh Ekade
23.	Shri Vijay Pingale
24.	Shri Amit Pinxd
25.	Shri Ekade Keshav
26.	Shri Ramnath Thikale
27.	Shri Yogesh Hulhale
28.	Shri Bhandare A.K.
29.	Shri Abasheb Pingal
30.	Shri Yogesh Pingal
31.	Shri Anil kwade Govind
32.	Shri Yogesh Gople
33.	Shri Nilesh Edaede
34.	Shri Sharad Hanaji Jadhav
35.	Shri Ulvesu Uttmrao
36.	Shri Sharad Dattatrya Takate
37.	Shri Diliprao Sampatrao Takate
38.	Shri Bhaousaheb Pundlik Shankpal
39.	Shri Dilip Tranmbak Takate
40.	Shri Vishnu Tukaram Takate
41.	Ashwini Chitmis, Prayas Energy Group